Absolutely no surprises with MLB Rookie of the Year winners

There were a pair of clear cut favourites with the MLB Rookie of the Year awards. In the end, there were no surprises.

In fact, it was not even close. Baltimore Orioles shortstop Gunnar Henderson was the unanimous winner of the AL Rookie of the Year, while Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Corbin Carroll was the unanimous winner of the NL Rookie of the Year. This marked just the fifth time that both winners were unanimous, with the last instance happening in 2017.

MLB Rookie of the Year winners were clear choices

Henderson barely qualified for the Rookie of the Year award this season, finishing with 116 at bats (and 132 plate appearances) in 2022. As the cutoff is 130 at bats, Henderson was eligible this season. He lived up to expectations for the surprising Orioles, posting a .255/.325/.489 batting line with 28 homers and 29 doubles in his 622 plate appearances. Henderson won the Silver Slugger at short this year and should receive down ballot MVP votes.

Carroll also saw time in 2022 with 104 at bats (115 plate appearances). And like Carroll, he used that experience as a springboard for the 2023 season. He posted a .285/.362/.506 batting line, hitting 25 homers and 30 doubles in his 645 plate appearances while stealing 54 bases. A first time All Star, Carroll should also receive MVP votes as he was a key part of the Diamondbacks’ surprising success.

Both players also provided even more value for their teams. Both teams will receive an extra first round pick due to the Prospect Promotion Incentive. As neither team attempted to play with their service time, they were able to reap the rewards in the standings and in the upcoming draft.

Gunnar Henderson and Corbin Carroll are the 2023 MLB Rookies of the Year. In both cases, the prohibitive favourites took home the hardware.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑